Skip to main content

Library Displays: April 2014

Displays in the Library

National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month!

National Poetry Month is a month-long, national celebration of poetry established by the Academy of American Poets. The concept is to widen the attention of individuals and the media—to the art of poetry, to living poets, to our complex poetic heritage, and to poetry books and journals of wide aesthetic range and concern. We hope to increase the visibility and availability of poetry in popular culture while acknowledging and celebrating poetry’s ability to sustain itself in the many places where it is practiced and appreciated. [source]

The library has poetry from around the world in its collection, both in the main collection and in the juvenile collection.

Find poetry in the library collection:

Want to know more about our recorded poetry?  Check out the Poetry on Record guide:

For more information, check out Poets.org's site for the event:

Celebrate Diversity

April is Celebrate Diveristy Month!  Learn something about a culture different from your own, or a person who is different from you in someway.  Check out a book from the display by the reference collection, or search for one in our collection.

Featured Genre: Poetry

The featured genre for Mar. 30 - Apr. 12 is poetry.  April is National Poetry Month.  Poetry comes in many forms, from limericks to haiku to sonnets and more.  Reading poetry not your thing?  Check out some of our recorded poetry in the record collection.

Search for poetry in the library collection:

Featured genre displays can be found on the record shelving along the side of the stairs.  Look for Lefty, and you'll find them!

Featured Genre: Drama

The featured genre for Apr. 13-Apr. 26 is drama.  Dramatic works are meant to be performed, singly or by a group of actors, in front of an audience.  Works in the scope of this genre are found around the world and have a long history.  The library has numerous examples in its collection, including:

Check out the display or search our catalog for more!

Featured genre displays can be found on the record shelving along the side of the stairs.  Look for Lefty, and you'll find them!

Featured Genre: Narrative Nonfiction

The featured genre for Apr. 27-May 10 is narrative nonfiction.  Works in this genre tell about real-life events in a storylike format, generally aimed at a broad audience.  Biographies and memoirs, tales of natural and technological disasters, war stories, and other subjects may fall into this category, which is defined more by its style than the topic.

Featured genre displays can be found on the record shelving along the side of the stairs.  Look for Lefty, and you'll find them!