Skip to main content

HIST 103: World Civilization I: Finding Books

Finding Books in Van Wagenen Library

1.

2. 

Enter two or three keywords in the search box. You may need to try different combinations of words to find exactly what you're looking for. To limit your search to physical books located on the shelves of VanWagenen Library, check the box next to "Print Books Only" in the "Limit To" box on the left side of the page.  Once you've found a book you're interested in, write down the "call number" provided.

3.

Look for the signs on the ends of the rows to help you find the shelf that has your book.

Library shelf guide signscall number on book spine

Books about similar subjects are grouped together on the shelves, so take a look at the books beside the one you were initially interested. Chances are good you'll find other relevant sources nearby!

If you need help, ask a librarian or staff member at the main desk on the library's first floor.

Library Locations

Location Description
Electronic Book / ebook Available directly from catalog. Just click on the link that says "click here for full text."
Juvenile Stacks Items shelved on 2nd floor in the Juvenile Collection. Contains juvenile books and juvenile audio-visual materials.
Kindle Kindle books are preloaded onto Kindle devices and available for loan at the circulation desk.
Newspapers Located in the popular reading area on the 1st floor.
Periodicals Journals and magazines. Be sure to check to see if they are located on the 1stfloor or in storage. Current issues located in the popular reading area.
Popular Reading Popular books available for check out. Located on first floor.
Reference Collection of items that provide general information on a variety of subjects. Can't be checked out. Located on 1st floor.
Reserves Items placed at the circulation desk by your professor for a specific course.
Special Collections/Vault Archives and rare materials.Can't be checked out. Ask for assistance.
Upstairs Stacks Books, videos and dvds located on the 2nd floor.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service the Van Wagenen Library offers to SUNY Cobleskill faculty and students allowing them access materials not part of our library's collection. After registering for an account (see the tutorial on this page), you may place requests for books, articles, or videos and our staff will attempt to locate a copy of the material for you, then contact you when it is available. For more information about the service see this guide

How to Register for Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (I.L.L.) service offered by Van Wagenen Library allows users to access materials from other libraries if we don't have them in our collection. This step-by-step tutorial leads users through the process of registering for and using the Interlibrary Loan service.