Skip to main content

ANSC 221: Equine/Companion Animal Nutrition: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The main search box on the library's home page allows you to limit your search to a specific type of resource, e.g. books, articles, course reserve materials, etc.

If you're looking only for articles--including scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles--use the dropdown menu beside the main search box to select "Find Articles." (FYI: The "Find Journal Title" option will only help you see if we subscribe to a certain journal; it won't search for specific articles published in that journal.)

Dropdown menu of main search box

Enter a few important subject-related keywords in the search box and hit the "Search" button.

You can narrow your results even further on your search results screen. If you're only interested in articles from Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed journals, look for the "Limit To" box on the left side of the page and click the box that says "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals." Your results list will be updated to weed out non-scholarly sources.

Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals limiter

 

Databases

What is a Database?

A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword.  Databases provide access to thousands of articles from hundreds of carefully selected scholarly journals and popular periodicals.  Most of the databases made available by the Van Wagenen Library feature a range of tools that allow you to refine your search parameters to help you focus your results and weed out irrelevant results. In addition, most databases offer direct links to the full text of articles.

 

What Database Should I Use?

Below are some databases that focus on the type of original scientific research articles required in the ANSC 221 Vitamin Assignment. You might also find relevant sources in other databases, but these are a good place to start your research.

Other Online Sources