Finding Books in Van Wagenen Library
1.
2.
Enter two or three keywords in the search box. You may need to try different combinations of words to find exactly what you're looking for. To limit your search to books, check the box next to "Books/eBooks" in the "Material Type" panel.
3.
Once you've found a book you're interested in, write down the "call number" provided. This is the address where that books lives on the shelves.
4.
Look for the signs on the ends of the rows to help you find the shelf that has your book.
Books about similar subjects are grouped together on the shelves, so take a look at the books beside the one you were initially interested. Chances are good you'll find other relevant sources nearby!
If you need help, ask a librarian or staff member at the main desk on the library's first floor.
Finding Articles
If you're looking only for articles--including scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles--use the dropdown menu beside the main search box to select "Articles."
Enter a few important subject-related keywords in the search box and hit the "Search" button.
You can narrow your results even further on your search results screen. If you're only interested in articles from Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed journals, look for the "Limit To" panel and click the box that says "Scholarly Sources." Your results list will be updated to weed out non-scholarly sources.
Agricultural Databases
A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in library databases is the high quality, scholarly research material that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.
All of the databases listed on this page are also available through the Van Wagenen Library website.
- Turfgrass Information File This link opens in a new windowTGIF provides quick access to significant published and electronic resources throughout the world. There are now over 100,000 records in TGIF, with a gradually increasing percentage of content linked to full-text sources. After selecting the link above, you must accept the terms and conditions to connect to the database.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new windowProviding robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests