Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once. But if for some reason you need to search just one database or one journal at a time, the links below can help you do that.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
The world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature containing more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966.
Picture Book database
The Picture Book Database combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites. It helps readers explore the possibilities of the format and helps readers find the best picture books in one place, without having to consult multiple resources.
Early Childhood Education Data Sources
Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930. Spanning many disciplines, the journal provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.
Child Development Perspectives
Child Development Perspectives (CDP) emphasizes brief, well synthesized reviews of research, typically focusing on emerging lines of inquiry in developmental science. The journal sometimes publishes essays on policy, statistics and methods, and on other topics suitable for the readership.
Children's Health Care
This well-established journal publishes empirically-based articles addressing theoretical, clinical, programmatic, training, and professional practice issues relevant to the family-centered, developmental, and psychosocial aspects of children’ health care. It also contains substantive and methodological reviews pertaining to these areas. As such, it welcomes articles involving parent-professional collaboration and multidisciplinary efforts including nursing, child life, psychology, social work, and related disciplines. The journal’ goal is to establish a strong justification for psychosocial care of children and provide an empirical base for professional applications with children and families interacting with health care settings and personnel.
Early Childhood Education Journal
The Early Childhood Education Journal analyzes issues, trends, policies, and practices for early childhood education from birth through age eight. In addition, the journal offers well documented points of view and practical recommendations.
Peer reviewed articles cover curriculum, child care programs, administration, staff development, family-school relationships, equity issues, multicultural units, health nutrition, facilities, special needs, employer sponsored care, infant/toddler programs, child development, advocacy, and more.
The journal serves the needs of early childhood practitioners, including classroom teachers, child care providers, and teacher educators.
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
For over twenty years, Early Childhood Research Quarterly (ECRQ) has influenced the field of early childhood education and development through the publication of empirical research that meets the highest standards of scholarly and practical significance. ECRQ publishes predominantly empirical research (quantitative or qualitative methods) on issues of interest to early childhood development, theory, and educational practice (Birth through 8 years of age).
Journal of Research in Childhood Education
The Journal of Research in Childhood Education, a publication of the Association for Childhood Education International, features articles that advance knowledge and theory of the education of children, infancy through early adolescence. Consideration is given to reports of empirical research, theoretical articles, ethnographic and case studies, participant observation studies, and studies deriving data collected from naturalistic settings. Cross-cultural studies and those addressing international concerns are welcome.
Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development
Since 1935 this series has presented in-depth research studies and significant findings in child development and its related disciplines. Each issue consists of a single study or a group of papers on a single theme, accompanied usually by commentary and discussion. Like all Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) publications, the Monographs enable development specialists from many disciplines to share their data, techniques, research methods, and conclusions.
Children's Websites and Literature
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Departments of Special Collections at several of the State University System of Florida libraries. It is a growing collection of digitized titles published, predominantly in the United States and Great Britain, from the 17th through the 20th centuries. The collection is of international significance for researchers who study historical, cultural, social and literary aspects of children's literature. More than half of the volumes collected here are unique among collections of children's literature elsewhere, whether in paper, microform, or digital format. The foundation for this Collection was a cataloging and preservation microfilming project funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). The NEH project included a digital color management strategy for the reproduction of illustrations as children saw them.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.