Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once. But if for some reason you need to search just one database or one journal at a time, the links below can help you do that.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text articles, news, statistics, images and web links on a number of topics and social issues.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." With an annual budget of $7.5 billion (FY 2016), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing
USGS : New York Water Science Center
Here you'll find information on New York's rivers, lakes, and estuaries. You'll also find information about groundwater, water quality, and many other topics. The USGS New York Water Science Center operates the most extensive satellite network of stream- and tide-gaging stations in the state, many of which form the backbone of flood-warning systems. The USGS provides current ("real-time";) stream stage and surface-water, water-quality, and groundwater levels for over 300 sites in New York.
Ecology and Society
Ecology and Society is an electronic, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal devoted to the rapid dissemination of current research. Manuscript submission, peer review, and publication are all handled on the Internet. Software developed for the journal automates all clerical steps during peer review, facilitates a double-blind peer review process, and allows authors and editors to follow the progress of peer review on the Internet.
Electronic Green Journal
EGJ is a peer-reviewed digital journal providing open access to scholarly, international environmental information since 1994. It is published semiannually by the UCLA Library.
Journal of Environmental Quality
Papers in JEQ cover various aspects of anthropogenic impacts on the environment, including terrestrial, atmospheric, and aquatic systems. Emphasis is given to the understanding of underlying processes rather than to monitoring. The journal publishes contributions under the headings of (i) Technical Reports, (ii) Reviews and Analyses, (iii) Environmental Issues, (iv) Short Communications, (v) Dataset Papers, (vi) Special Sections, (vii) Letters to the Editor, and (viii) Book Reviews.
Journal of Food, Agriculture & Environment
The Journal of Food, Agriculture and Environment (JFAE) publishes peer-reviewed articles, original research, critical reviews or short communications in food science and technology, human nutrition, animal science, agricultural science and environmental science. The Journal gives particular emphasis to interdisciplinary studies in the fields of food, agriculture and environment interfaces. The core objective of this journal is to promote research and increase knowledge by providing opportunities for scientists, researchers, students, professionals and policy-makers to publish excellent science based works speedily.
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
The collection consists of 62 books and pamphlets, 140 Federal statutes and Congressional resolutions, 34 additional legislative documents, excerpts from the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record, 360 Presidential proclamations, 170 prints and photographs, 2 historic manuscripts, and 2 motion pictures.
United States Environmental Protection Agency
The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.