Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases of Peer-Reviewed Articles
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
The world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. - [EBSCOhost]
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Many relevant sources may also be found by searching larger, less-specialized databases than those listed above. The "MultiSearch" option on the library's advanced search page identifies books and ebooks, scholarly journal articles, and entries from reference sources (e.g. encyclopedias, almanacs, specialized directories). In addition, try expanding your search by using the resources listed below:
⚫ Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
⚫ Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
⚫ Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
A large scientific, technical and medical database.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Make sure Van Wagenen Library is selected in the "Library Links" settings to see links to articles featured in subscription databases. Also take advantage of the advanced search features; click the small "down arrow" at the far right edge of the search box to see options.
If you're interested in browsing through recent editions of scholarly journals for inspiration, you might try beginning with some of the titles listed below.
Van Wagenen Library provides access to thousands of recently-published electronic books, many of which are collections of research articles. The electronic format allows users to search the text, browse the content, and download chapters to print or read online. The books listed below are just a few examples of the type of eBooks available through the SUNY Cobleskill library.