Skip to main content

HUMS 243: Children's Literature: Children's Literature

Welcome!

This guide was created in Fall 2019 for students enrolled in the Children's Literature course taught by Elizabeth Raimondi-Moore. The information on this page and on the other tabs listed above is intended to help students find the children's literature and other credible sources required to complete the major assignments in HUMS 243.

Quick Facts

  • The children's collection is located on the upper level of the library
  • All call numbers start with "JUV"
  • We order the Newbery and Caldecott winners from each year
  • Visit the small shelves near the windows for new books
  • Look for "in library use only" sticker - you won't be able to take these out of the library but we usually have a second copy that you can check out
  • Borrow for these books are 2 weeks long
  • Please do not reshelve books! Just leave them on a cart

Children's Literature Collection

This guide will introduce you to the Children's Literature Collection at Van Wagenen Library!

The Children's Literature Collection is organized according to the outline you see below. You will also find these signs posted around the collection.

list of library call numbers for different subcategories of children's books

Find Books in the Catalog!

1. Visit the "Advanced Search" page of the Library's search engine.

2.Click the button for "Physical Materials" to find books. Then choose "Juvenile Collection" in the "Subcategory" dropdown menu that appears.

3. Next enter author names, subjects, or keywords in the search boxes. (In the example here, I'm searching for books about animals by the author Eric Carle. Notice I've selected "author" and "subject" in the dropdown menus next to the appropriate boxes.)

juvenile collection search

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. View your search results and make sure to write down the call numbers for any titles you want to find.

call numbers for books in the children's collection begin with the letters J U V

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. The children's books are at the top of the stairs on the library's 2nd floor.