Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books in Van Wagenen Library
Enter two or three keywords in the search box. You may need to try different combinations of words to find exactly what you're looking for. To limit your search to books, check the box next to "Books/eBooks" in the "Material Type" panel.
Once you've found a book you're interested in, write down the "call number" provided.
Look for the signs on the ends of the rows to help you find the shelf that has your book.
Books about similar subjects are grouped together on the shelves, so take a look at the books beside the one you were initially interested. Chances are good you'll find other relevant sources nearby!
If you need help, ask a librarian or staff member at the main desk on the library's first floor.
Credible Sources of Info on the Open Web
Encylopedia of Life
Database hosted by the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History.
Animal Diversity Web
A searchable and browseable database hosted by the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology.
Plants of the World Online
A plant database developed and maintained by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew in the UK.
Use the NatureServe Explorer on the bottom right corner of the home page to search for information about plants, animals, and ecosystems.
GBIF: The Global Biodiversity Information Facility
"An international network and research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth."
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (ebook)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library (ebooks)
This database provides access to reference entries from a wide range of credible, scholarly sources including specialized encylopedias, atlases, directories, and handbooks.