Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 101: Western Civilization I: Home

Welcome

This Library Guide was created in Fall 2021 for Professor Amy Wilson's Western Civilization I (HIST101) course The information provided here and on the accompanying links is intended to assist students find the sources required to complete the HIST101 Biography Project.

Selected Encyclopedias & Other Sources

The notation "REF" indicates that the book is to be found in the Reference Area on the Main Level of Van Wagenen Library. If you cannot find something, please ask a librarian for help.

1. Historical Periods & Places

REF CB311 .E54 2002 v.1-3: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World

CB353 .G7 1980b: Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization

D25.A2 K63 1986: Dictionary of Wars

REF DE5 .O9: Oxford Classical Dictionary (Greece & Rome)

DS81 .M613 1968b History of the Phoenicians

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance [ebook]

Encyclopedia of World Cultures [ebook]

Europe 1450-1789 [ebook]

Who's Who in the Greek World [ebook]

Who's Who in the Roman World [ebook]

2. Art

REF N31 .E533 v.1-17: Encyclopedia of World Art (& architecture)

N33 .M23 v.1-5: McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art

REF N33 .M37 1986: Dictionary of Art

REF N33 .O93 1988:  Oxford Dictionary of Art

N5300 .M865: Golden Encyclopedia of Art

N5300 .P773: Praeger Encyclopedia of Art

N6350 .H813: Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance & Baroque Art

3. Literature, Music, & Theater

REF ML100 .S37 1983 v.1-2: New Oxford Companion to Music

PA31 .H69 1989: Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

REF PN41 .B4 1987: Benét's Reader's Encyclopedia

PN1625 .M3 v.1-4: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama

REF PN2035 .O9 1983: Oxford Companion to the Theatre

REF PQ41 .H3: Oxford Companion to French Literature

REF PT41 .G3: Oxford Companion to German Literature

4. Religion & Philosophy 

B41 .E5 v.1-8: The Encyclopedia of Philosophy

BL31 .E46 1987 v.1-16: The Encyclopedia of Religion

REF BL60 .E53 1998: Encyclopedia of Religion & Society

REF BL80.2 .E495 1988: Encyclopedia of World Faiths

BL310 .G853: Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology

REF DS118 .E465 1986b: Encyclopedia of Jewish History

PN37 .B29 1972: Mythologies

Encyclopedia of Islam [ebook]

Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy [ebook]

New Catholic Encyclopedia [ebook]

Remember: The notation "REF" indicates that the book is to be found in the Reference Area on the Main Level of Van Wagenen Library. If you cannot find something, please ask a librarian for help.

Reference Books

Van Wagenen Reference Shelves

Encyclopedia Britannica