Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AGRN 338: Weed ID and Control
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once.
The links below can be used for searching just one database at a time, as another way to narrow your search results.
Turfgrass Information File This link opens in a new window
TGIF provides access to over 100,000 published resources about turfgrass. After clicking the link, you must accept terms and conditions to connect to the database.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Citations to agricultural literature provided by National Agricultural Library.
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines focused on practical methods and scientific theory of horticulture.
Crop Science is a top international journal in fields of crop breeding and genetics, crop physiology, and crop production.
Golf Course Industry
A magazine dedicated to the golf course industry. The link leads directly to an article about herbicide resistant weeds.
Access to this scholarly online journal is provided by SUNY Cobleskill library, and will require a Coby username and password.
The PLANTS Database from the National Resources Conservation Service provides standardized information about plants of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, and much more. This is a very useful resource for background information and distribution of weed species.
Cornell Cooperative Extension
Cornell University Cooperative Extension provides research about management practices for many different landscape systems in NY.
Weed Management in Agriculture IPM
This is a site created by Cornell University about integrated pest management with a page on weed management in agriculture.
Management Practices for NY State Golf Courses
This is a PDF about best practices for managing golf courses in New York created by Cornell in partnership with other organizations.
Eastern New York Commercial Horticulture
This site provides information about weed management in commercial horticultural operations in New York.
Invasive Agricultural Plants Upstate NY
A handout about invasive agricultural plants in upstate NY.