Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books in Van Wagenen Library
Enter two or three keywords in the search box. You may need to try different combinations of words to find exactly what you're looking for. To limit your search to books, check the box next to "Books/eBooks" in the "Material Type" panel.
Once you've found a book you're interested in, write down the "call number" provided. This is the address where that books lives on the shelves.
Look for the signs on the ends of the rows to help you find the shelf that has your book.
Books about similar subjects are grouped together on the shelves, so take a look at the books beside the one you were initially interested. Chances are good you'll find other relevant sources nearby!
If you need help, ask a librarian or staff member at the main desk on the library's first floor.
Databases of Peer-Reviewed Articles
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. - [EBSCOhost]
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Many relevant sources may also be found by searching larger, less-specialized databases than those listed above. Try expanding your search by using the resources listed below:
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
• Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
• Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
• Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A large scientific, technical and medical database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Make sure Van Wagenen Library is selected in the "Library Links" settings to see links to articles featured in subscription databases. Also take advantage of the advanced search features; click the small "down arrow" at the far right edge of the search box to see options.