Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites of Interest
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Stand on the shoulders of giants
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
You can find chemical data on thousands of chemical compounds. (You have to set up a free account).
This database allows users to search compound identifiers such as chemical name or CAS Registry Number on the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals.
NIST Chemistry Webbook
Thermochemical data for over 5000 organic and small inorganic compounds. Reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions. IR spectra for over 7500 compounds. Mass spectra for over 10,000 compounds. UV/Vis spectra for over 400 compounds. Electronic and vibrational spectra for over 3000 compounds. Constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds. Ion energetics data for over 14,000 compounds. Thermophysical property data for 16 fluids.
NIST Data Gateway
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.
Search by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number
Just like Google, but it ranks scholarly sources at the top of your results. Link it to the SUNY Cobleskill library to see articles we already have available. Need help? Ask a librarian!
When you use websites as resources for your research assignment, it is important to evaluate them before citing them in your paper. This is especially true for sites that you find through Google or other search engines.
For tips on evaluating websites see the Research Help guide and click on the Evaluating Sources tab!