Search Basics
The search box on the library's main page allows users to search for books, DVDs, videos, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, scholarly articles and more from one search box. If you're trying to access a book or article you already know about, you can enter the title or author's name here. If you're looking to find material about a specific topic, try entering two or three keywords that are likely to appear in discussions of that topic.
What are Keywords?
Keywords are the words you use to search for anything online and they determine how successful your search is. If you're researching the links between poverty and obesity in children, for instance, the most important keywords would be: poverty, obesity, children. Database searches usually work better when you only enter 2-4 essential keywords than when you enter a complete sentence or question.
Here a couple of common problems you may run into and ways to fix them using keywords:
|
I'm getting too many results! |
|
| I'm getting too few results! |
|
| These results are not what I'm looking for! |
|
How do I Refine my Search Results?
From your list of results, use the "Refine Your Results" panel to narrow your search by publication date, source type, publisher, language and more.
CAHT Databases & Journals
A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in library databases is the high quality, scholarly research material that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.
All of the databases listed on this page are also available through the Van Wagenen Library website.
- Culinary Arts Collection This link opens in a new windowCulinary Arts Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection This link opens in a new windowHospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.