Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Journals, Magazines, & Databases
The main search box on the library's main page provides access to hundreds of books, newspapers, popular magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals. These include online, full-text sources and printed materials available to borrow from the Van Wagenen Library.
Culinary Arts Collection
This database "includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information." Use the "Advanced Search" interface to limit search results to recipes. Enter your search terms and select "recipes" from the dropdown menu labeled "Select Document Type."
Database Search Tips
- Select Scholarly Sources to limit you search to only articles published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
- Select Full-Text to see only articles you can read immediately.
- If the full text of an article isn't available, you can request it for free through InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Articles usually take 24-48 hours to arrive, and are sent to you by email.
- When you have found an article that is close to what you are looking for, look at the subject headings. Try searching these terms to find relevant articles.
- Look at the references/citations at the end of an article to find more articles on your topic.
Print Periodicals in the Van Wagenen Library
If you'd prefer to browse through cooking magazines or journals, the Van Wagenen Library has many cooking-related materials in print form. Most are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library. Select titles include the following:
- Bon Appetit
- Cooks Illustrated
- Culinary Trends
- Fine Cooking
- Gastronomica: The Journal of Food & Culture
- Real Simple
- Restaurants & Institutions