Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Natural Sciences and Mathematics
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once. But if for some reason you need to search just one database or one journal at a time, the links below can help you do that.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A large scientific, technical and medical database.
Journal of Chemical Education
The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them. JCE typically addresses chemical content, activities, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies. The Journal serves as a means of communication among people across the world who are interested in the teaching and learning of chemistry. This includes instructors of chemistry from middle school through graduate school, professional staff that support these teaching activities, as well as some scientists in commerce, industry, and government.
Journal of Environmental Quality
Papers in JEQ cover various aspects of anthropogenic impacts on the environment, including terrestrial, atmospheric, and aquatic systems. Emphasis is given to the understanding of underlying processes rather than to monitoring. The journal publishes contributions under the headings of (i) Technical Reports, (ii) Reviews and Analyses, (iii) Environmental Issues, (iv) Short Communications, (v) Dataset Papers, (vi) Special Sections, (vii) Letters to the Editor, and (viii) Book Reviews.
Journal of Food, Agriculture & Environment
The Journal of Food, Agriculture and Environment (JFAE) publishes peer-reviewed articles, original research, critical reviews or short communications in food science and technology, human nutrition, animal science, agricultural science and environmental science. The Journal gives particular emphasis to interdisciplinary studies in the fields of food, agriculture and environment interfaces. The core objective of this journal is to promote research and increase knowledge by providing opportunities for scientists, researchers, students, professionals and policy-makers to publish excellent science based works speedily.
Integrated Taxonomy Information System
Welcome to ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System! Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership is proud to provide the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
Since 1994, the Internet Scout Research Group (Scout) has focused on developing better tools and services for finding, filtering, and presenting online information and metadata.
Located on the University of Wisconsin-Madison's campus, and part of the University's College of Letters and Sciences, Scout has access to highly educated content specialists and a world-class array of computer science and library resources. Our eclectic staff blends academics and professionals from Library Science and Computer Science, along with graduate and undergraduate students studying the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
The National Academies of Science, Engineering, Medicine
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
physics.org is brought to you by the Physics in Society team at the Institute of Physics.
Our aim is to inspire people of all ages about physics. Let us be your guide and show you the best physics places on the web.
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Since 1997, the SciCentral editors have been aggregating breaking research news from the most reputable and reliable sources. The service has received over 30 Web awards and enthusiastic reviews from leading science publishers (e.g.; Science Magazine, The Lancet, The New Scientist) for the quality of its service. Over 700 other websites point to SciCentral as a trusted source of information.
World of Physics
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics.
This resource has been assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the internet community.