Finding Articles
If you're looking only for articles--including scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles--use the dropdown menu beside the main search box to select "Articles."
Enter a few important subject-related keywords in the search box and hit the "Search" button.
You can narrow your results even further on your search results screen. If you're only interested in articles from Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed journals, look for the "Limit To" panel and click the box that says "Scholarly Sources." Your results list will be updated to weed out non-scholarly sources.
Database Search Tips
- Select Scholarly Sources in the "Limit To" menu on the left to limit you search to only articles published in scholarly journals.
- Select Available Online to see only articles you can read immediately.
- If the full text of an article isn't available, you can request it for free through InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Articles usually take 24-48 hours to arrive, and are sent to you by email.
- When you have found an article that is close to what you are looking for, look at the subject headings. Try searching these terms to find relevant articles.
- Look at the references/citations at the end of an article to find more articles on your topic.
Combining Search Terms
You can create complex search strategies by combining keywords using the linking words AND, OR and NOT. For example, if your search terms are mathematics AND curriculum:
- AND – Narrows and focuses the search results. The search mathematics AND curriculum will bring only results where both the terms mathematics and curriculum are present.
- OR – Broadens the search results. Using OR will bring results where the term mathematics is present, or results where curriculum is present, or results where both terms are present. OR is useful if you have more than one way to refer to a concept -- Example: elementary OR primary.
- NOT – Excludes anything where the term after the NOT is present -- Example: school NOT college
Specialized Databases
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window• Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
• Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
• Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
• And more! - Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowFull text and citations/abstracts. Peer-reviewed journals and popular sources in the humanities pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Project MuseThis database focuses on Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences. They are providing limited free access to articles during the COVID-19 pandemic.
- InfoBase: Bloom's Literatureuse "distancelearning" as the username
use "trial" as the password