Skip to main content

HUMS 243: Children's Literature: Caldecott Medal Books

About the Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year.

Caldecott Medal

Find Caldecott Medal Winners at Van Wagenen Library

1.  Used the "Advanced Search" page of the library's search engine.

2. Click the "Physical Materials" search option and select "Juvenile Collection" from the "Subcategory" dropdown menu that appears.

choose "physical materials" and the Juvenile collection subcategory




3. Select "Subject" from the dropdown menu in the first line and use the keyword "Caldecott Medal Winner." (Be sure to include the quotation marks!) If you know words from the title, author, illustrator, or subject, you can enter those in the second line of the search box.

Select Subject as the search type and enter "Caldecott Medal Winner"





4.  Write down the call numbers for any titles you want to find. Books in the juvenile collection are located on the second floor of the library.

Recent Caldecott Medal Winners in Van Wagenen Library


2014 Caldecott Medal Winner

This Is Not My Hat

2013 Caldecot Medal Winner

The Adventures of Beekle

2015 Caldecott Medal Winner

Radiant Child

2017 Caldecott Medal Winner

Finding Winnie

2016 Caldecott Medal Winner

Wolf in the Snow

2018 Caldecott Medal Winner

Hello Lighthouse

2019 Caldecott Medal Winner