Skip to main content

HUMS 243: Children's Literature: Newbery Medal Books

About the Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year.

Newbery Medal

Find Newbery Medal Winners at Van Wagenen Library

1.  Used the "Advanced Search" page of the library's search engine.

2. Click the "Physical Materials" search option and select "Juvenile Collection" from the "Subcategory" dropdown menu that appears.

choose "physical materials" and the Juvenile collection subcategory




3. Select "Subject" from the dropdown menu in the first line and use the keyword "Newbery." If you know words from the title, author, illustrator, or subject, you can enter those in the second line of the search box.

select "Subject" as the search type and enter "Newbery Medal Winner"





4.  Write down the call numbers for any titles you want to find. Books in the juvenile collection are located on the second floor of the library.

Recent Newbery Medal Winners

Flora and Ulysses

2014 Newbery Winner

Hello, Universe

2017 Newbery Winner

Last Stop on Market Street

2016 Newbery Winner

The Crossover

2015 Newbery Winner

Merci Suárez Changes Gears

2019 Newbery Winner

Hello, Universe

2018 Newbery Winner