Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's Book Awards
ALSC Notable Children's Books
"books of especially commendable quality, books that exhibit venturesome creativity, and books of fiction, information, poetry and pictures for all age levels (birth through age 14) that reflect and encourage children's interests in exemplary ways"
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
"given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values."
Irma Black Book Award
"an outstanding book for young children—a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing and enlarging on the other to produce a singular whole. The Irma Black Award is unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning book."
Sibert Informational Book Medal
"awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year."
American Indian Youth Literature Award
"identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by and about Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America"
The Geisel Award
"given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year."
APALA LIterature Awards
"to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit." Has separate characters for Children's Literature and Picture Books.
Ezra Jack Keats Awards
"The EJK Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation."
Pura Belpre Award
"presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth"
Stonewall Children's Book Awards
"Stonewall Book Awards are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience"
Other Useful Sites
Picture Book Database
The Picture Book Database is a unique service that combines metadata from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites.
The Children's Book Council
Highlights new releases, "Best Of" lists, diverse titles, and advice on selecting children's books.
International Children's Literature Database
Database of children's books from around the world that you can read online.
Free streaming videos of famous actors reading children's stories.
New York Public Library
NYPL's list of 100 Best Children's Books
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Departments of Special Collections at several of the State University System of Florida libraries. It is a growing collection of digitized titles published, predominantly in the United States and Great Britain, from the 17th through the 20th centuries. The collection is of international significance for researchers who study historical, cultural, social and literary aspects of children's literature. More than half of the volumes collected here are unique among collections of children's literature elsewhere, whether in paper, microform, or digital format. The foundation for this Collection was a cataloging and preservation microfilming project funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). The NEH project included a digital color management strategy for the reproduction of illustrations as children saw them.