Where to begin
The search box on the library's home page is a simple, powerful discovery tool that can help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once.
The links below can be used for searching just one database or journal at a time, in order to target your search results.
Databases
- General Science Collection This link opens in a new windowGeneral Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBiological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (ebook)
Credible Sources on the Open Web
- Encylopedia of LifeDatabase hosted by the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History.
- Animal Diversity WebA searchable and browseable database hosted by the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology.
- Plants of the World OnlineA plant database developed and maintained by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew in the UK.
- NatureServeUse the NatureServe Explorer on the bottom right corner of the home page to search for information about plants, animals, and ecosystems.
