Article Databases - BIOL/PHIL 305 - Ethics, Science, Medicine, Tech

Databases for Topic Selection

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database contains 255 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument) and Critical Thinking Guide.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text articles, news, statistics, images and web links on a number of topics and social issues.

General Databases

These databases provide access to scholarly materials on a range of topics from a range of sources including newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.

Academic OneFILE This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Databases cover the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
• Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
• Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
• Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
• And more!
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.

Science Databases

A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in library databases is the high quality, scholarly research material that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.

General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A large scientific, technical and medical database.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. [EBSCOhost] SUNYConnect

BIOL/PHIL 305 - Ethics, Science, Medicine, Tech: Article Databases

Databases for Topic Selection

General Databases

Science Databases

Tutorial