Economics Sources
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once. But if for some reason you need to search just one database or one journal at a time, the links below can help you do that. Bear in mind that searching in only one database will prevent you from finding thousands of relevant sources.
Databases
- eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowA good source for background information about countries and their economies, governments, and histories. Look for entries from the Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowSearch by country name to find reports and encyclopedia entries.
- Economics and Theory This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Be sure to try the Topic Finder search feature.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAn important collection of full-text content with an emphasis on business and economics topics.
Websites
- CIA World FactbookValuable, up-to-date information provided by the Central Intelligence Agency. Search by country name or click a country on the interactive map.
- World Bank: Data"free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe"
- Public Data on GoogleProvides data from the World Trade Organization, the International Monetary Fund, and the OECD Factbook, among other sources.
- UN DataStatistical data about UN Member Nations