Search Tip!
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once. You may also choose to narrow your search by selecting specific databases from the list below.
Agricultural Databases
A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in library databases is the high quality, scholarly research material that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.
All of the databases listed on this page are also available through the Van Wagenen Library website.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new windowProviding robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests
Help with Paraphrasing
These two excellent tutorials from other universities allow you to test your understanding of how to properly paraphrase sources.
-
Paraphrasing Activity
This interactive tutorial from the Online Writing Lab at Excelsior College provides guided practice on distinguishing acceptable paraphrasing from plagiarism.
-
Avoiding Plagiarism--Paraphrasing
This paraphrasing guide comes from the Academic Integrity handbook at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
Possible Search Terms
Enter 2-4 search terms into your database of choice. Connect your search terms with "AND" to get the best results.
.
General search terms:
"plant pathology"
"disease control"
"pest control"
"control methods"
"plant disease"
"agricultural disease"
"crop disease"
Specific search terms:
Name of specific disease
Name of specific control method
Name of specific crop