Comprehensive Searching
The best place to begin your search for credible information sources is the search box on the library's home page. This simple, powerful discovery tool will help you find physical items in our library (e.g. books, DVDs, reference materials) and valuable content from scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using the library's search box allows you to search multiple databases and thousands of journals all at once. But if for some reason you need to search just one database or one journal at a time, the links below can help you do that.
Websites
- Animal Diversity WebOnline encyclopedia database of animal information from the University of Michigan.
- New York State Department of Environmental ConservationGovernment information with species data and other helpful resources related this this geographic area.
Databases of Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. - [EBSCOhost]
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Many relevant sources may also be found by searching larger, less-specialized databases than those listed above. Try expanding your search by using the resources listed below:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window• Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
• Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
• Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
• And more! - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
- Google ScholarMake sure Van Wagenen Library is selected in the "Library Links" settings to see links to articles featured in subscription databases. Also take advantage of the advanced search features; click the small "down arrow" at the far right edge of the search box to see options.