Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide was created in Fall 2019 for students enrolled in PHIL 101: Introduction to Philosophy. The tabs at the top of the page are intended to help students find sources to use in the course's final paper assignment and to offer guidance on improving library searches.
Recommended Library Databases
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Full text and citations/abstracts. Peer-reviewed journals and popular sources in the humanities pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
da Urbino, Raffaello Sanzio. "School of Athens." 1511. Vatican Museums, Vatican City. Wikimedia Commons, https://commons.wikimedia.org /wiki/File:%22The_School_of_Athens%22 _by_Raffaello_Sanzio_da_Urbino.jpg. Accessed October 2019.
Philosophy Encyclopedias on the Web
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work."
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides "open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.... The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at universities around the world."