Welcome
This Library Guide was originally created in Fall 2016 for Professor Wilson's World Civilization I (HIST 103) course and last updated in Spring 2020. The information provided here and on the accompanying links is intended to assist students find the sources required to complete the HIST 103 Library Assignments.
Selected Encyclopedias
Van Wagenen Library: Selected Encyclopedias
The notation "REF" indicates that the work so marked is to be found in the Reference Area on the Main Level of Van Wagenen Library. If you cannot find something, please ask a librarian for help.
Section A: General Encyclopedias & Biographical Sources
Start with the following sources for basic background:
REF AE5.N49 2003: The New Encyclopaedia Britannica
REF D358.W74 1988: World History
REF D21.E577 2000: Encyclopedia of World History
Electronic Resource: Britannica Academic
Section B: More specialized encylopedias & reference works:
1. Places: Sources Focusing on Countries, Continents, Areas of the World
DT58 .P653 1962 Dictionary of Egyptian Civilization
REF DS44 .C37 1988: Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa
REF DS705 .C35 1991: Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
REF DT14 .A37435 1999: Africana
REF DT352 .4 .D5213: Dictionary of Black African Civilization
REF DT352 .6 .L56 1978B: Dictionary of African Historical Biography
REF E58 .W64 1988: Indians of North and South America
REF F1406 .E53 1996: Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Electronic Resources:
2. Ideas: Religion, Philosophy, Theory and Ideology
B41 .E5 v.1-8: The Encyclopedia of Philosophy
BL31 .E46 1987 v.1-16: The Encyclopedia of Religion
BL310 .G853: Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology
PN37 .B29 1972: Mythologies
REF BL80.2 .E495 1988: Encyclopedia of World Faiths
REF DE5 .O9: Oxford Classical Dictionary (Greece & Rome)
D25.A2 K63 1986: Dictionary of Wars
Electronic Resources:
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
3. Historical Periods: General and Specific Histories
REF CB311 .E54 2002 v.1-3: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
CB353 .G7 1980b: Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization
D25.A2 K63 1986: Dictionary of Wars
REF DS118 .E465 1986b: Encyclopedia of Jewish History
4. Art And Literature: Including Fine Arts, Music, Architecture, and Theater
REF ML100.S37 1983 v.1-2: New Oxford Companion to Music
REF N33 .M37 1986: Dictionary of Art
N33 .M23 v.1-5: McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art
N5300 .P773: Praeger Encyclopedia of Art
REF N31 .E533 v.1-17: Encyclopedia of World Art (and architecture)
PA31 .H69 1989: Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
PN1625 .M3 v.1-4: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
REF PN2035 .O9 1983: Oxford Companion to the Theatre
REF PN41 .B4 1987: Benét's Reader's Encyclopedia
REF PQ41 .H3: Oxford Companion to French Literature
Reference Books
