Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The big search box on the library's main page is generally the best place to begin a broad search for sources. Occasionally, however, researchers may benefit from using special features available only while visiting individual databases one-at-a-time. The following databases focus on literature and literary analysis.
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Sometimes searching a single database at a time helps cut through some of the clutter that you might encounter when using the library big search box. The following databases are great places to search for sources related to literature, language, and the humanities.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Full text and citations/abstracts. Peer-reviewed journals and popular sources in the humanities pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
• Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
• Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
• Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
This database focuses on Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences. They are providing limited free access to articles during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Advanced Keyword Searching
Advanced Keyword Searching
This fast-paced video, presented by Librarian Kate Cushon for the University of Regina, introduces several helpful tools for improving your results in a keyword search, including the use of Boolean operators, truncation, phrase searching, and wildcards. At the 4:25 mark, this video shifts its focus to details specific to the University of Regina Library website, but the information presented before that point can be applied to searches in almost any library catalog or database. Recommended for users with some previous experience conducting basic library and database searches.