Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News & Current Events Databases
US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), Chicago Tribune (1985-present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984-present).
Infotrack Newstand This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of 150 newspapers, both national and international. Now includes "National Newspaper Index"
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. Newspaper Source Plus contains comprehensive full text for major national (U.S.) and international newspapers, and features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts. - SUNYConnect [EBSCOhost]
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).
Open Web Reference Sources
American Community Survey
A wealth of data about American population including breakdowns of age, sex, race, education, income, housing, and more.
A government clearinghouse provide access to over 300,000 data sets divided into categories including consumer, finance, and manufacturing.
American Fact Finder
Find recent demographic data for a specific zip code.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States."
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS provides information about labor and the job market, but also data about consumer prices, producer prices, and import/export prices.