About the Archives & Special Collections
Records relating to the history and administration of the college are located in the college archives. These records include campus publications and documents produced in the course of day-to-day activities. Meeting minutes, yearbooks, student newspapers, and similar items are included.
Special collections have items of particular historical, regional, or topical interest. Some of the special collections the library include:
- a small historical juvenile book collection
- books and periodicals on Schoharie County local history
- local newspapers
- historical agricultural books
Items on speleology which were formerly housed in special collections have mostly been moved into the circulating and periodicals collections on the first and second floor due to increased interest in the topic.
The Jared Van Wagenen Jr. collection includes books owned by Mr. Van Wagenen, photographs, and related materials.
SUNY Cobleskill Institutional Repository
Some of the digitized historical collections are available through the SUNY Cobleskill Institutional Repository.
Items in the Institutional Record have been digitized and made available to further research and scholarship. Every effort has been made to exclude personally identifiable information (PII), such as Social Security Numbers; information protected by FERPA or HIPPA; and similar information from the repository, but if you believe you have found such information in the repository, please contact us at library@cobleskill.edu. Include a link to the item of concern, and the Library will review it and make a determination about whether it should be removed from the repository.
The Library generally does not remove or redact items which do not contain PII or legally restricted information, as the items in the institutional repository are part of the historical record and are most valuable to scholarship in their original, unredacted forms. Should you have concerns about an item, please contact us at library@cobleskill.edu.
Adding to the Collections
If you have campus documents to be added to the college archives, please fill out the college records accession form and send it either with the materials or by email to library@cobleskill.edu.
If you would like to donate materials to the library's special collections, please fill out a deed of gift form and send it either with the materials or by email to library@cobleskill.edu. Please see our collection policy for more information on donations.
