General Databases
A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in library databases is the high quality, scholarly research material that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles. If you know the name of the database you want to search, you can start at the Databases A-Z list.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowFull text and citations/abstracts. Peer-reviewed journals and popular sources in the humanities pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Specialized Resources
Online Egyptological Bibliography
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. Coverage is from 1822 to the present. [username=guest; password=temporary]
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
The UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology (UEE) is an international cooperative project to provide high quality peer reviewed information on ancient Egypt. [requires registration, free]
Egyptology books and articles in PDF from The Fitzwilliam Museum's site.
Digital Giza Library
From the Giza Project at Harvard University, the website seeks to integrate this virtual environment with more than a hundred years of scholarly research about Giza.
Online Reference Books
- The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
- Britannica Academic
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt [posted in Moodle course, PDF]
- Civilizations of the Ancient Near East [14-day free loan]
Search Tips
- Select Scholarly Sources to limit you search to only articles published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
- Select Full-Text to see only articles you can read immediately.
- If the full text of an article isn't available, you can request it for free through InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Articles usually take 24-48 hours to arrive, and are sent to you by email.
- When you have found an article that is close to what you are looking for, look at the subject headings. Try searching these terms to find relevant articles.
- Look at the references/citations at the end of an article to find more articles on your topic.