Early Childhood - ENGL 304 - Writing in the Disciplines

Journals

Reading current issues of academic journals in your field can give you an idea of scholars and topics that are currently being discussed.

Below are journals that you have access to, either in print or online.

Early Childhood Databases

These databases are dedicated to early childhood and contain current abstracts and articles on child development issues. Use the tips suggested on the General Tips page to find currently discussed topics and relevant scholars.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC or Education Resource Information Center is the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.

General Databases

These databases, while not solely focused on early childhood development, still contain scholarly articles on the topic.

Academic OneFILE This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Databases cover the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
General OneFILE This link opens in a new window
Content includes more than 12,000 titles in all with nearly 30 years of coverage.

MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A large scientific, technical and medical database.

Websites

Websites dedicated to early childhood education can offer another look into what topics are currently being researched.

ENGL 304 - Writing in the Disciplines: Early Childhood

Journals

Early Childhood Databases

General Databases

Websites