Communications - ENGL 304 - Writing in the Disciplines

Journals

Reading current issues of academic journals in your field can give you an idea of scholars and topics that are currently being discussed.

Below are journals that you have access to, either in print or online.

Communications Databases

These databases are dedicated to communications and mass media and contain current abstracts and articles on communication theory, practice, and research. Use the tips suggested on the General Tips page to find currently discussed topics and relevant scholars.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text and citations/abstracts. Full-text articles from more than 330 journals; content dating as far back as 1972. High-quality indexing for nearly 750 periodicals, over 670 of which are peer-reviewed. - [EBSCOhost]

ENGL 304 - Writing in the Disciplines: Communications

Journals

Communications Databases

Websites