Fisheries, Wildlife, Env. Sci. - ENGL 304 - Writing in the Disciplines

Journals

Reading current issues of academic journals and trade publications in your field can give you an idea of scholars and topics that are currently being discussed.

Below are journals that you have access to, either in print or online.

Journal of Wildlife Management
Wildlife Society Bulletin
Current year only
Wildlife Monographs
Current issues
North American Journal of Fisheries Management
Fisheries Science

Fisheries, Wildlife, & Environmental Science Databases

These databases are dedicated to fisheries, wildlife, and environmental science and contain current abstracts and articles on relevant research. Use the tips suggested on the General Tips page to find currently discussed topics and relevant scholars.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. - [EBSCOhost]

General Databases

These databases, while not solely focused on fisheries, wildlife, or environmental studies, still contain scholarly articles on the related topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
• Biological Sciences Collection: 29 journals with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. Subjects include ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
• Business Collection: Subjects include economics and finance, accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.
• Arts and Sciences III Collection: Language & Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History
• And more!
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A large scientific, technical and medical database.

Websites

Governmental websites can offer another look into what topics are currently being researched in fisheries, wildlife, and environmental issues.

ENGL 304 - Writing in the Disciplines: Fisheries, Wildlife, Env. Sci.

Journals

Fisheries, Wildlife, & Environmental Science Databases

General Databases

Websites